Winter & Knitting

Snow & DrivewayHouse and SnowOkay, I am sick of winter.  We have had about 5-5 1/2 feet of snow since Thanksgiving and I am so sick of it.  Mind you, the 5 feet isn’t all at once.  We probably have about 3 1/2 feet right now.  All I can tell you is it is past my knees on my 5’2″ frame.   Our driveway does make it fun to go sledding with all the nice powder we have had.  This snow makes it so dang hard to feed and water our bunnies though.  If I had my way, spring would be here. 

Shifting Sands clothWith all this snow it has been good for designing, looming and knitting projects.  I have designed a couple new dishcloth patterns and have worked on a 5 cable cloth for the February KAL on Janice’s group Looming Dishcloths Plus.  It is called  Shifting Sands.  I was a little hesitant to try cable, but found they were quite simple once I got the hang of it.  My have to try more things with cables.  I know I’ll probably try the dishcloth pattern from Creative Knitting in the March 2008 issue.  It is an all over cable pattern.

The cloth with the heart on it I designed for the February Loom-A-Long on Ravelry. If you are a member and love to Pieces of my Heart Hummingbird Clothmake dishcloths, please join us. The hummingbird cloth will be up on my Loomy Dishcloth Blog just as soon as I write up the pattern for it. 

house socksI also completed Isela’ Plushy Slipper Sock pattern for the Loom A Long on Ravelry (you can find the pattern at her site http://isela.typepad.com for $1.25).  I didn’t loom it in the plushy yarn that she called for.  I just used a worsted weight acrylic/wool blend .  The pattern is very easy to understand. 

Leave a Reply

